Homestead built by Deacon Joseph Mather, son of Reverend Moses Mather, and his wife Sarah on 100 acres.
Homestead raided by the Tories and valuables stolen from the well but not found inside the house (come for a tour to discover the secret hiding spot).
1906 - 1930
Homestead owned by Stephen Tyng Mather, first Director of the National Park Service.
1930 - 1993
Homestead restored, maintained and cared for by Bertha Mather McPherson, Stephen Mather’s daughter, one of the first female architects in Connecticut and a founding member of the Darien Historical Society.
Homestead designated a National Historic Landmark.
Homestead listed on National Register of Historic Places.
Homestead designated a Protected Town Landmark by Town of Darien.
The Mather-McPherson family donated the Homestead to a newly created Foundation to be operated as a museum for public education.
Opened the Elizabeth W. Chilton Education Center.
The McPherson family donated an additional acre of land to the Foundation. The Homestead becomes one of nine markers on Darien’s historical Heritage Trail.